Principles of The Ram

Balance – Asymmetrical

 

Balance – Symmetrical

 

Contrast – Color

 

Contrast – Tonal

 

Emphasis – Color

 

Emphasis – Contrast

 

Emphasis – Scale/Proportion

 

Proportion & Scale

 

Movement & Rhythm

 

Pattern & Repetition

 

Unity & Harmony – Proximity

 

Unity & Harmony – Simplicity

(3 sentences per question min.)

1. What strengths and weaknesses do you see in your own work?

I see strength in the emphasis on color. I also see strength in proportion and cropping. I see weakness in my backgrounds, in a few photos there is too much going on in the background.

2. How might you improve or refine your approach in future photography projects?

In my next project, I will focus on more attractive backgrounds. I will improve my approach by finding value in things and making the most out of them. I will also improve on taking different angles for the same photo, that way I have multiple fun options to pick from.

3. Pick one of your photos, what emotions or messages did you intend to convey through this photograph?

My “Contrast – Tonal” photo gives off a dark, scary feeling. The light in the dark sky is not shining bright, meant to project fear into the viewer. I intended for the viewer to feel uncomfortable and fearful through this photograph.
4. Are there specific principles of design you would like to explore further in your photography?

I would like to explore “Unity & Harmony – Simplicity” and “Emphasis – Color” in the future and focus on using those principles. Unity & Harmony – Simplicity I know could have turned out better than it did and would like to improve in that area. Emphasis – Color I liked how it turned out and had the most interest and fun when taking photos and editing.
5. What concepts or techniques do you want to experiment with in your next project?

I would like to take different angles for multiple shots in my next project. I have not experimented much in that area and believe my skills could be improved. I would also like to experiment with close-up shots that include water drops or bugs for example.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *